

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

September 19, 2019

ALL AGREEMENT STATES
ALL STATE LIAISON OFFICERS

NMSS REORGANIZATION -- EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 13, 2019 (STC-19-059)

Purpose: To inform Agreement States and State Liaison Officers that the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC) Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS) will reorganize effective October 13, 2019.

Background:

In SECY-18-0024, "Nuclear Materials and Waste Safety Program and Fee Evaluation," dated February 14, 2018 (Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) Accession No. ML 18012A751), the staff indicated they would provide the Commission its decision on the reorganization of NMSS. The staff requirements memorandum to SECY-18-0024, dated October 31, 2018 (ADAMS Accession No. ML18304A314), directed staff to discuss in the paper the planned efficiencies in NMSS organizational structure and programs, reductions in projected resources that reflect efficiencies, and potential fee impacts to existing licensees.

In SECY-19-0057, "Reorganization of the Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards," dated May 28, 2019 (ADAMS Accession No. ML 19017A114), the staff determined (after examining several alternatives) that the merging of two NMSS divisions and creation of two Centers of Expertise (COE) will lead to resource savings and anticipated efficiencies in workload distribution, collaboration, knowledge transfer, agility of critical skill sets, decision-making, and cross-office standardization.

Discussion:

NMSS will reorganize effective October 13, 2019. The reorganization will involve two significant changes: (1) Two existing NMSS divisions -- the Division of Fuel Cycle Safety, Safeguards and Environmental Review and the Division of Spent Fuel Management -- will merge, creating the Division of Fuel Management (DFM). (2) The agency's Environmental and Financial Review assets (currently housed in NMSS, the Office of New Reactors (NRO), and the Office of Nuclear Reactors (NRR)) will merge to create two new COEs within NMSS: an Environmental COE and a Financial COE. The two new COEs will join the rulemaking COE in the division of rulemaking (DRM); DRM will now be called the Division of Rulemaking, Environmental, and Financial Support (REFS).

Along with the formation of new agency COEs and NMSS divisions, this reorganization will also involve the movement of some NMSS Division-level management.

- New Division of Fuel Management (DFM)
 - Director: Andrea Kock (Effective October 13, 2019)
 - Deputy Director: Chris Regan (Effective October 13, 2019)

- New Division of Rulemaking, Environmental, and Financial Support (REFS)
 - Director: John Tappert (Effective August 12, 2019)
 - Deputy Director: Kevin Coyne (Effective October 13, 2019)
- Division of Decommissioning, Uranium Recovery, and Waste Programs (DUWP)
 - Director: Patricia Holahan (Effective August 12, 2019)
 - Deputy Director: Bo Pham (No Change)
- Division of Materials Safety, Security, State, and Tribal Programs (MSST)
 - Director: Michael Layton (Effective October 13, 2019)
 - Deputy Director: Kevin Williams (No Change)

Please note that the reorganization does not change your current Regional State Liaison Officers (RSLOs) or Regional State Agreements Officers (RSAOs).

/RA/

Paul Michalak, Chief State Agreement and Liaison Programs Branch Division of Materials Safety, Security, State and Tribal Programs Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguard